Love..

When people think about love, they usually think lovers, romantic relationships, married couples. So being single I spend a lot of time feeling I don’t have love.

This week I’ve been thinking a lot about love and realised I am incorrect in believing being single means I am without love in my life. I forget there are so many different kinds of love that are not romantic.

Unconditional love. My family drive me insane most of the time, but however unsupportive or insensitive they are I’ll still love them. My mum raised me by herself and my brother was my best friend growing up. Even when I hate them I’d still do anything for them. Same with my cat, even when she’s naughty, or scratches and won’t show me love, she’ll always mean the world to me.

When I spend time with my friends and it’s like a mental hug. Whatever is happening they always make me feel that bit better. I know I’d do anything in my power to help them. I love them even if we are arguing,without any blood tie but just as strongly as I love family.

And in some ways my colleagues became like a second family to me. Realistically I spend more time with them than anyone else. They see my ups and downs, ill and healthy. We’ve shared laughter and problems. And so in a way I love them all too.

So even though I miss the love of a romantic relationship and sometimes feel alone, I’m lucky for all the other types of love I have. And even when I wish I could go back to when I was still happy with my ex, in doing that I’d never meet my closest friend.

Leave a comment